Review: Mister Impossible (Dreamer Trilogy #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

I loved this book, it was amazing. I think I’ve changed my mind as well. In my review of Call Down the Hawk I said that I thought the Raven Cycle was required pre-reading, but I don’t think it is anymore. Ronan and Adam’s relationship isn’t nearly as much of a feature as I thought it was going to be, and any required world element is explained within the books of the Dreamer Trilogy. That being said, you will need to have read Call Down the Hawk (book one)for Mister Impossible to make sense.


The cover is a little simplistic, but I don’t mind it. I preferred the cover for Call Down the Hawk, but I think that’s just for petty reasons. I like hawks, I’m indifferent about people standing on roads. I can, at least, appreciate the effort to make the cover resemble both the characters being depicted as they are described in the book, and an actual scene. Bet this is the insightful critique you came here for, huh?

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Raven Boys, a mesmerizing story of dreams and desires, death and destiny.

The stakes have never been higher as it seems like either the end of the world or the end of dreamers approaches.

Do the dreamers need the ley lines to save the world . . . or will their actions end up dooming the world? As Ronan, Hennessy, and Bryde try to make dreamers more powerful, the Moderators are closing in, sure that this power will bring about disaster. In the remarkable second book of The Dreamer Trilogy, Maggie Stiefvater pushes her characters to their limits – and shows what happens to them and others when they start to break.


I genuinely enjoyed everything about this book. It was incredible start to finish, and while I’m incredibly excited for the next book, I want this series to continue for about fifteen more books. I love when an author creates such fascinating and complete characters that there’s an endless amount of interactions and emotional depths to plumb, and Maggie Stiefvater has absolutely done that with this series. Ronan, Hennessy and Bryde alone could carry a great book, so the added storylines following Jordan, Declan, Matthew, Adam, Carmen Farooq-Lane, Liliana and Boudicca are an incredible bonus.

I liked seeing Matthew develop as an individual character in this book, especially after the events of Call Down the Hawk, and I loved the chance to get to know Jordan and Hennessy separately. I always love when a character’s backstory is explored through the effect it has had on their present self or reactions, and this is done very well in this series (and the Raven Cycle too, for that matter). Carmen Farooq-Lane’s backstory and character have only become more interesting over the course of this second book, and I really hope Nathan’s past and crimes are explored more in the next (last!) book.

I’m surprised Adam has been such a non-character in this series, and I really hope that he plays a greater role in the final book of the trilogy. I also think it would make sense for Blue and Gansey to make an appearance. Not to take over the series, but just because I’d love to see the way they react to the new Adam and Ronan, and the world-altering events that are sure to come.

While the characters and the nuances of how they interact are probably my favourite part of any well-written book, the twists and plot of Mister Impossible are also world-class. I’m always surprised (even though I shouldn’t be) when Maggie Stiefvater writes stories that make sense, for the characters and the world, that seem like a story you know, without doing the expected thing. I don’t think that was very eloquently put, but the writing is funny and original and meaningful and surprising, without losing the fairy tale feel of great fantasy. I love it.

I also appreciated the themes of technology and environmentalism and the see-saw balance between progress and the natural world. It’s a problem with no clear solution, and I liked that there was no attempt to pretend that it was a problem with an easy or simple fix.

I loved the discussions around art that Mister Impossible facilitated, and the way art, and its creation, was treated as both the mundane skill that it occasionally is, and the work of passion, emotion, and vulnerable expression that great art also inevitably consists of.

There are too many things I loved about this book to list all of them, but I was glad that some confusing/jarring aspects of Call Down the Hawk were explained well, and some intriguing aspects of the world and magic system got exposed in this book. I want to avoid spoilers, so I’ll just leave it at that.

The cliffhanger this book ended on is unbearable, and I can’t wait to read whatever comes next. I think the Dreamer Trilogy (because again, you should not read Mister Impossible if you haven’t read Call Down the Hawk) would be perfect for fans of Holly Black’s Curseworkers series, Leigh Bardugo’s Ninth House, Derek Landy’s Demon Road series,Seanan McGuire’s Wayward Children series or Ilona Andrews’s Blood Heir.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.