Reading Recap June 2021 and Mid-Year Thoughts

I wanted to read roughly one book a week this year, something I am well on track to do. I’ll list the books I read in June (none of them were gifted, I purchased them all), and then get onto discussing any trends that may have occurred in the first half of them year. As this is a more rambly post, I should probabaly also use this space to mention that I have to move in the next couple of months, so my upload schedule and reading may slow down a little while I take care of that.

Mister Impossible (Dreamer Trilogy #2) by Maggie Stiefvater, new read
How Long ‘Til Black Future Month Anthology by NK Jemisin, new read
All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater, new read

I only read three books in June, most likely as they were all first time reads, and I reviewed them all (this slows down the reading process, as I take notes etc). I’m happy to be finally working through my backlog of physical books I bought but didn’t read, something I hope to continue as I focus my time/money on moving rather than buying books.

So, as for the year’s reading progress so far, I’ve read 36 books and two short stories/novellas. To stick to my one a week goal, I’d need to have read 26 books by this point, so I’m 10 books ahead of schedule so far, which should allow for the chaos of moving and the holidays to slow me down while still achieving my goal. It should also allow for me to read new (or new to me) books, without preventing the reading challenge as well, whoch I’m quite happy about.

Of the 36 books I’ve read, 12 have been first-time reads, which I’m happy with. One third new reads, to two thirds re-reads is a decent mix, I think, especially with all of the re-reading that happened while I waited for my pre-orders. Twenty-one of the books I’ve read (and one of the short stories) have been reviewed on my blog, if you’re interested in reading them, a ratio I’m also quite happy with.

Overall, I’m well on track to hit my target of reading one book a week, while also allowing for the inevitable delays that reading more new books and life in general are sure to cause before 2021 ends.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.