Review: Love and Other Wild Things (Mystic Bayou #2) by Molly Harper

laowt

This cover is bland, the characters don’t look how I imagined them (not that they ever do), and I am generally not drawn in by this


Love and Other Wild Things was good, but never really became great. The plot seemed simplistic, the setting and character relationships likewise bland. This is a perfectly serviceable series and book, but when compared to the larger-than-life characters and compelling storylines of her Half-Moon Hollow series, there’s no contest.

While it would help in a few places to have read How to Date Your Dragon (and there are spoilers for that book in Love and Other Wild Things), this book does stand quite well alone. The plot here is somewhat flimsy, the romance is a little abrupt, but Dani was a good character, and I enjoyed seeing her make her home in Mystic Bayou. There were some funny moments in Love and Other Wild Things (the entire furry exchange was hilarious), and at the end of the day, I enjoyed reading it, which is the whole point. There were some pretty obvious lead-ins to book three (especially if you know the title), and while I’m not desperate to get my hands on it, I’ll definitely read it when I get the chance.

Perhaps this series fails to really draw me in in the way Molly Harper’s work usually does, because it is primarily marketed as an audio series. I’m not complaining about that, by any means. I hadn’t even realised how inaccessible most books were, even if they do (eventually) come in audio version. I think this is a great step, and I feel vaguely guilty that I’ve never considered how poorly audio readers (many of whom doubtless have no choice about waiting for an audio version) are usually treated. That being said, this is a review of the print version, and I feel fairly lukewarm about this book (and series).

I read this book, and will likewise continue to read the series, because Molly Harper writes well and creates funny, easy to read characters and funny situations for them to fall into. Love and Other Wild Things was a light, quick read perfect for relaxing and just enjoying ridiculous situations and charming banter. It’s not my favourite Molly Harper book (if you like banter and are indifferent or better towards vampires, read the Half Moon Hollow series, it’s very good; if vampires are a deal-breaker the Southern Eclectic series contains nothing more outlandish than a relatively close extended family and is just as hilarious), but it was still an enjoyable read. I doubt I’ll rush out and buy a copy, but I would place a hold at the library.

I’d recommend this book to anyone looking for a pleasant, entertaining book that can easily be read in whatever time you have to spare. Fans of Devon Monk’s Ordinary Magic, Lisa Shearin’s SPI Files or anyone who enjoys paranormal romance light on grit and heavy on likeable characters and banter will enjoy Love and Other Wild Things; despite what this review seems to imply, I did.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.