Review: Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5) by Patricia Briggs

bb

I really like this cover, it hints at the tone of the book as well as a specific incident; while still remaining a fairly simple, engaging design

In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs “spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well” (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other–one that lurks too close to home…

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…


I decided to re-read Burn Bright in anticipation of the release of Storm Cursed, and I’d forgotten how much happens in the book. I remembered who the traitor was though, and enjoyed noticing all the little hints and bits of foreshadowing sprinkled throughout the book. I love the pack dynamics, Charles and Anna’s relationship continues to be sweet and lovely, and every scene with Asil is a delight. I enjoyed the references to Kara, and I might go back and read the book that she first appeared in. I hope she becomes a more significant character in future books. There were also enough references to Sherwood Post that I should probably read the book that he was in, as I assume he’s going to become relevant soon.

Bran is a powerfully interesting character, as always, and I enjoyed having perspectives other than Mercy’s on his relationship with Leah. The Marrock’s pack is filled with interesting characters, and Wellesley promises to be among the most interesting in books to come. His backstory and character were gripping and well-written, the mission he sets out on in Burn Bright promises to be likewise fascinating.

The traitor sub-plot in this novel was fascinating, and I was glad that real change came about as a result.  The Alpha and Omega novels always have huge consequences in the universe of both these novels, and the Mercy Thompson series. I will await the sixth instalment eagerly, but I’m sure to be just as involved in the next couple of Mercy books that come out in the meantime.

I enjoy the closed community tone of the Alpha and Omega novels, though there are several incidents in Burn Bright that are sure to have far-reaching political implications that will likely be explored in future Mercy Thompson novels.

I appreciated the way Anna’s past affects her behaviour and reaction to events, and the way she refuses to allow this to prevent her from doing what she chooses, and what is best for those she cares about. I also appreciated what I believe is the first representation of a female werewolf with a female partner, in the character of Peggy.

The mythology of the world Patricia Briggs has created continues to expand, and I enjoyed the way the mythology of various cultures was woven together into an intriguing, multi-layered world in both Burn Bright and the preceding Alpha and Omega and Mercy Thompson novels.

I would recommend this book only to fans of the rest of the series, and preferably with at least a passing familiarity with the Mercy Thompson novels. If for some reason you’re determined to begin reading at Burn Bright, I would recommend the book for fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance in the vein of Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series, Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series or Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.